

## American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity Announces the Installation of New Officers for 2016 – 2018

Association's officers reflect a wealth of experience in equal opportunity, diversity and affirmative action in higher education, private industry and law.

For Immediate Release: June 27, 2016

Contact: Shirley J. Wilcher, Executive Director

240-893-9475 execdir@aaaed.org

Washington, DC, June 27, 2016 – The American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity (AAAED), an association of equal employment opportunity (EEO), diversity and affirmative action professionals, announced the installation of its new officers whose terms begin July 1, 2016 and end in 2018. "We are delighted to have such outstanding leaders take the helm of this organization in the years to come," said Immediate Past President Marshall Rose. These elected officials were sworn in during the AAAED  $42^{nd}$  National Conference and Annual Meeting on June 6-8, 2016, at the Sheraton Tysons Hotel in Vienna, VA near Washington, DC.

Founded in 1974 as the American Association for Affirmative Action (AAAA), AAAED is a national not-for-profit association of professionals working in the areas of compliance and diversity. AAAED has 40 years of leadership in providing professional training to members, enabling them to be more successful and productive in their careers. It also promotes understanding and advocacy of affirmative action and other equal opportunity and related compliance laws and regulations to enhance the diversity tenets of access, inclusion and equality in employment, economic and educational opportunities.

For President, the association elected Myron Anderson, Ph.D. Dr. Anderson serves Metropolitan State University of Denver as the associate to the president for diversity. A member of the president's cabinet, he is the University's chief diversity officer responsible for articulating and resolving current and future issues related to diversity. In 2014 – 2016, Dr. Anderson served as First Vice-President of AAAED.

The new First Vice-President for AAAED will be Marilynn Schuyler, Esq. Ms. Schuyler, who founded the law firm Schuyler Affirmative Action Practice, has been developing Affirmative Action Plans for public, private, and academic institutions since 1996, and has been working in the field of Equal Employment Opportunity since 1988. Ms. Schuyler has served as Public Information Chair on the Board of AAAED and as Region III Director. She was also on the team that wrote the AAAA/AAAED *amicus curiae* briefs in the *Fisher v. University of Texas at Austin* case, which is currently before the Supreme Court for a second time.

The AAAED Second-Vice President, Carmen Suarez, Ph.D., will undertake a second term in that position. Dr. Suarez serves as the Vice President for Global Diversity and Inclusion at Portland State University, beginning her tenure September 8, 2015. Prior to this position, she was the founding Chief Diversity Officer of the University of Idaho. Dr. Suarez previously served as Board Secretary for the Association and is a member of the AAAED Professional Development and Training Institute Committee.

Sharron Gatling, M.A.Ed., continues her post as Board Secretary. Ms. Gatling is the Assistant Director of Equal Opportunity in the Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity at the College of William and Mary. She currently monitors faculty and administrative recruitment for the College, as well as areas where affirmative action goals have been established.

The AAAED Treasurer is and will continue to be Dean Sparlin, Esq., an attorney with the Sparlin Law Office in Fairfax, VA. Mr. Sparlin represents and advises management on employment issues, specializing in affirmative action plans and other applications of statistical techniques to the field of employment law. He served previously as AAAED Treasurer for the national association and its annual conferences. He was also a member of the team that wrote and submitted the AAAA/AAAED *amicus curiae* briefs in the *Fisher* case.

The AAAED Bylaws also require the election of members of its Nominating and Elections Committee. The elected members are: Yulanda McCarty-Harris (Chair), J.D., Sr. CAAP, Cleveland State University; Judy Ferres, M.A., SPHR, Boston College; Jose Franco, B.A., EEO consultant; Georgia Williams, D.B.A., PeopleFluent; and Ariana Wright, J.D., Old Dominion University.

For more information about AAAED, go to www.aaaed.org.

###